Skip to main content


our board

Our Board is the governing body for the Association. Each Board member is committed to providing good governance, effective financial management and creativity as they advocate for older Victorians in need.

Dr Philomena Horsley - Chair

Elected to the Board 2021

Philomena has been a member of numerous NFP Boards and government advisory committees since the 1980s and currently serves on committees in the Victorian Health Department, Scope Australia and the Moonlight Head Cemetery Trust. She works as a research consultant, author, adult educator and academic lecturer. She is a medical anthropologist with particular interests in the health, aged care and disability care systems; gender and health; family violence; and death and dying. She holds the position of Honorary Senior Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne

Judy Sharp

Elected to the Board 2011

Judy has many years of experience in community development, advocacy and in the provision of social and community services in Victoria and has been on many NFP boards and committees since the 1980s. A social worker by profession, her major fields of interest are aged and disability services including the needs of family carers. For many years she managed the Commonwealth Respite and Carelink Centre and CarerLinks North programs at Merri Community Health Services (now Carer Gateway program), advocated for improved respite services and was Chair of the Victorian Carer Services Network. Previously, Judy founded and edited a community newspaper for many years and has been a trainer and facilitator of workshops for women in business or management. She is an active Rotarian having held the roles of Club President and Assistant Governor. She is currently Chair of the Quality Care Committee at Abound.

Dominique Horne

Elected to the Board 2020

Dominque Horne is a social worker with 35 years’ experience in aged care, family violence and disability across government, health & NFP sectors Dominique led the establishment of Elder Abuse Services in Victoria working with older people who are experiencing elder abuse and their families, providing secondary consultation and education in elder abuse and ageing. She has an excellent understanding of the challenges older people, and their families face in accessing services to meet their individual needs. Dominique Is a member of the Governance Committee.

Dr Catherine Wilson

Elected to the Board 2022

Cathy is a Physician (Geriatric Medicine) with experience working across inpatient, outpatient, community and residential care settings. Cathy’s focus is on person centred care to support, enable and promote healthy living at any age. Cathy is currently a Geriatrician at Royal Melbourne Hospital and sits on the Clinical Care Committee.

Professor Margaret Abernethy - Deputy Chair

Elected to the Board 2022

Maggie is an Emerita Professor at the University of Melbourne and continues to be actively involved at the University through her research and mentoring of students. She is an expert in cost accounting, budgeting, performance management, compensation design and other corporate governance issues. Maggie contributed to leadership within the University as Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics for more than eight years and also held several other leadership positions. She has considerable experience in the public sector through her contributions as Commissioner for the Monash City Council, her research in schools and hospitals and as a director on several NFP boards. Maggie has received numerous awards nationally and internationally for her research and contributions to higher education.

Niraj Bhojani

Elected to the Board 2023

Niraj is a strategic business all-rounder. Currently a senior leader at travel technology scale-up, Rome2Rio, he is a chartered accountant with broad finance, commercial and operations experience. His previous roles were with PwC, NAB, Origin Energy and Lion Dairy & Drinks. Niraj is passionate about building modern, purpose-driven teams that care.